Plaid Tweed Cap for Errant Lads

I am cruising through Hampstead Heath Park in London, over by West Heath. It is dusk, and the setting sun casts warm pinks over the bog…adding a glow to the shadowy forms of men lurking by the untrimmed bushes. I am planning on trekking on over to Leg of Mutton Pond to let loose with copies of 250 missives that I have written to you. I’ve copied each note on crisp gold origami paper and folded them into wee gilded swans. They will be perfectly gleaming as they float across the rippling water. I have on my old denim patched sailor pants, and a yellow and cobalt blue stripped wool pullover. I’m wearing a tattered plaid tweed cap. I sing a little tune as I make my way through the park.
How glad the many millions
Of Toms and Dicks and Williams
Would be
To capture me.
But you had such persistence
You wore down my resistance
I fell
And it was swell.
You’re my big and brave and handsome Romeo
How I won you I will never never know
It’s not that you’re attractive
But oh my heart grew active
When you came into view.
I’ve got a crush on you, sweetie pie
All the day and nighttime, hear me sigh
I never had the least notion
That I could fall with so much emotion

(I’ve got a Crush on You – Written by George Gershwin & sung by Ms. Fitzgerald)

1 Comment

Filed under Dandy Attire

One response to “Plaid Tweed Cap for Errant Lads

  1. Pingback: Natural England, English Heritage in danger | Marcus' s Space

Leave a Reply

