Vintage Wool Smoking Suit

It is a fine day for fashion and wordsmiths. Last month, I bought the “Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary” (ed. Kay, Roberts, Samuels, Wotherspoon), and “One Hundred Years of Menswear” (C. Blackman). I am reclining on my wine cut-velvet armchair basking in the intellectual warmth of page 1085. One hand is in my pocket, fondling the commendation ninepence and chain link that you gave me…and wishing I was fondling you. My other hand holds a 19th century hand-painted Staffordshire Punch and Judy mug of hot spiced apple cider, and I’m wearing a copy of Rudolph Valentino’s three-piece smoking suit made of grey and black herringbone tweed, with black matte satin cuffs and a shawl collar. Queen’s Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy is playing scratchily on the gramophone.
I can dim the lights and sing you songs full of sad things
We can do the tango just for two
I can serenade and gently play on your heart strings
Be your Valentino just for you.
Hey boy where do you get it from
Hey boy where did you go ?
I learned my passion in the good old-fashioned
school of loverboys.

(By the luminous Freddie Mercury)

2 Comments

Filed under Dandy Attire

2 responses to “Vintage Wool Smoking Suit

  1. I just wanted to tell you that I absolutely adore you and your blog! I’ve favorited and I’ll def be back for many reads to come, hell I’m even putting you on my blog’s bloglist… Keep up the snazzy job mister!

Leave a Reply

